Dadvice

May 17, 2012 at 12:16 pm Leave a comment

Last week, ESS was recovering from a stomach bug (which I’m pretty sure is what was ailing me for four days this week), and his doctor suggested probiotics might help to limit the amount of horrifying diaper incidents we were seeing. So off I went in search of some, calling on my always helpful Twitter network of moms. My first two responses came from Dads:

It was a facepalm moment for a few reasons. The first is that I hate with a white hot rage when marketers try to appeal to me by ignoring my husband or trying to engage me in a good laugh over what an inept, bumbling father he is. The truth is that we’re a team and together we make up for the skills we lack when we parent alone. The second is that, when I think about it, my husband knows better than I where the most necessary things are in the store, since he’s almost always the one who runs out to get the Pedialyte at 6am on a Saturday. NOTE: no stores in Brighton are open at that hour and carry said product. Do not pass go, head directly to the 24 hour CVS in Watertown.

The day we brought ESS home from the hospital, we were packing to leave and realized we didn’t have any diapers at home. NJS headed to Target only to find two very intimidating aisles of diapers looming ahead of him. While he stood there trying to make sense of it all, a dad with four toddlers in tow stopped and asked him if congratulations were in order, and did he need help. The guy explained how diaper sizes worked (hint: size 1 is not the first size) and then looked at him and said “You can give up on being right from now on.”

The next time you need solid parenting info, ask a Dad.

Entry filed under: baby, dad, family, marketing, NJS, personal, social media. Tags: , .

In Defense of Defense Mix Tapes That Changed My Life

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


