Homemade Raspberry Seltzer For Your Soul

June 30, 2011 at 3:37 pm Leave a comment

There are some meals and drinks I enjoy at restaurants that I want desperately to recreate at home. Maybe it’s something I want to eat often, maybe it’s something I think I can tweak a bit to be more my own taste, maybe it seems like a cool challenge to undertake. But then there are some things that, were someone to begin to tell me the recipe, would result in me sticking my fingers in my ears and yelling, “LALALALALA.” until they stopped. The homemade raspberry seltzer at Flour Bakery + Café is one of those things.

None of Flour’s three locations are convenient to my day to day. All of them are reachable, but I have to go a little out of my way to get there, which means I’m not there often. It means that each time I go it’s because I’ve carved a little extra time out of my day just for myself. This already means that a visit to Flour is a little bit special.

The first time I had the raspberry seltzer, I was hungover. I was also struggling with finding a balance in my life. I remember it was a beautiful morning: bright blue sky, clouds so clearly defined it looked like they may have been sketched into the sky, cool breeze and warm sun. I decided to go a little bit out of my way and visit the Flour in Central Square to get breakfast. Coffee sounded too heavy, and something about housemade raspberry seltzer sounded really nice, so I got one (and a scone which was of course delicious, but this is not a post about scones.)

How do I describe it without sounding like a food blogger who’s run out of words? It’s completely Baby Bear’s Porridge – not too sweet, not too tart, just the perfect mix of fresh and refreshing and fruity, but also soothing. This beverage reaches into your soul and hugs you, and when you’re done you realize you really needed that hug. The world seems nicer and much more tolerable as you drink it down.

I say this confidently because feeling a little stressed and confused and with my brain in a knot I wandered over to Flour’s Fort Point location recently and had the same experience. Soul hugging, self-soothing raspberry seltzer.

I heard a rumor (most likely on Twitter) that Joanne Chang is planning to include the recipe in her upcoming cookbook Flour Power. I mean no offense to her incredible culinary mind when I say that I will buy the book and make my husband turn immediately to the raspberry seltzer recipe page and rip it out. Some things are just meant to remain pure magic.

photo stolen from FoodSpotting. My friend Trish took it and I hope she doesn’t mind that I posted it here. I was too distracted by the soul hug to snap a photo. 

Entry filed under: Boston, food, personal, raves, restaurants, stress, wicked fun.

My Baby’s Social Media Policies Civilization Moving Backwards

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


