Banana Fanna Fo-king Delicious Bread

March 6, 2011 at 4:50 pm Leave a comment

I am not a greedy chef.

I do not have secret recipes that I guard like treasure, refusing to share and only occasionally obliging to make the resulting dish. If I find a recipe that works for me I want to share it with everyone, because I want them to be able to taste the amazing thing, too. I want to hear what changes they make, and introduce possibly even more layers of deliciousness to my face.

Most amazing banana bread ever

Amazeballs

I have no idea where I found the recipe originally, but I recently rediscovered it written on a piece of notebook paper in my recipe file, a hodge podge of handwritten and computer-printed ideas dating back to about 2001. Last week  I went so far as to buy extra bananas that were already turning brown so I could make this bread without having to wait so long for the bananas to ripen. You will thank me for the smell that permeates your house alone. And you’re very welcome.

 

Elijah Craig Bourbon Ages 18 Years

The Good Stuff

1 tsp vanilla
3-4 ripe bananas, smashed (I use 4)
1/3 cupe melted salted butter
1 cup light brown sugar
1 egg, beaten
1 tbsp bourbon (I use Elijah Craig 18 year we received as a wedding gift, and no I most certainly do not consider it a waste of good bourbon. Life’s too short. Use the good bourbon.)
1 tsp baking soda
1 pinch of salt (I use a little less, since the butter is salted)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
pinch of ground cloves (I never have them so never use them, but do what you will)
1 1/2 cups flour

 

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix the butter and bananas. Separately mix the sugar, egg, vanilla and bourbon. Mix into the banana mixture. Mix in the spices. There is a lot of mixing going on. Sprinkle salt and baking soda over the mixture, and mix some more. Add in the flour, then bake in a loaf pan for about an hour.

Entry filed under: family, food, raves, recipes.

March Makeover Lent Me Some Patience

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


