Tip on the Tightrope

November 14, 2010 at 10:09 am 7 comments

A few days ago I was worrying over a major change I sensed coming. When these feelings hit me I never know what will soothe them – a new haircut or a move across the country? Thankfully I think I’ve figured it out. The change is me. Well, me and my new husband.

Before NJS and I left for our honeymoon, we were (individually and together) total wrecks. Sure, wedding planning is stressful. Moving is stressful. Working at a start-up is stressful. Starting your own business is stressful. Doing all of these things within a few months time, all at once, is a terrible shock to the system and we reacted accordingly. We struggled with each other, with migraines, with sometimes paralyzing anxiety – and through it all we kept telling ourselves it would be better on the other side. When we got to Portland, and realized how much we didn’t want to go back to that life we had left before the wedding, we made some vows to each other to make sure that we don’t:

MORE friends – we spend too many evenings networking or seeing friends at tweetups and not having dinners at home or even just meeting for a post-work cocktail. We will make a concerted effort in our marriage to deepen our relationships with our friends, not just with each other.

my friends are amazing

MORE books – our home boasts shelves and shelves of books, and we never make time to read them. That stops now.

MORE yoga/massage/taking care of our physical selves – we have both found natural ways to be good to ourselves, but we restrict our access to them out of fear of cost and time. The reality is there are no better investments than those that help us keep at bay the anxiety and chronic headaches and stress that make us people we don’t like and keep us from being our best.

LESS stress – easier said than done, but it comes with the territory of reprioritization. We have both fretted over things that just didn’t matter, worried over outcomes that were much more negative and dramatic in our heads than in reality. We are not neurosurgeons or pilots or even parents yet. No one’s limbs fall off if NJS doesn’t shave or if I don’t have all the answers. Less shaving, more “I don’t know.”

stressed out

LESS anger – everyone in Boston is hustling to get to where they next need to be, and in a place that is small and filled with even smaller T cars and sidewalks and offices and homes that only get that much tinier when winter cold and snow pushes us all further into our corners, anger comes quickly. It’s so much easier to fall into the negative attitudes and selfish behavior that’s happening all around than it is to smile and be kind, but you’ll note this list doesn’t say MORE easy.

LESS work – this is a tough one. NJS is starting a business, and can’t very well take a day off when things are moving forward swiftly. And I’m not the sort of person who refuses to work outside of a 9-5 weekday block, especially when we’re in a particularly ramped-up time at the office. But both NJS and I are guilty of not having boundaries. We will wake up, roll over in bed and grab the Blackberries, typing out emails before we even say good morning to each other. We can’t make room for the MOREs if we don’t set boundaries. In fact, maybe this isn’t LESS work so much as MORE boundaries. Yes, that’s better.

Work/life balance is all about more of some and less of the other. It doesn’t mean it has to be perfectly even; some people like having more work or more life than do others. It’s harder than it sounds to figure out what the right balance is for you, and harder still to make it happen. The easy thing would be to come home and fall right back into old patterns. If you need me, I’ll be on the tightrope, finding and figuring out how to keep my balance.

Entry filed under: Boston, family, health, NJS, personal, wedding.

Happy Holidays: National Grid Hates You Meanie

7 Comments Add your own

  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jennifer Spencer and Brad Bengtson, Alan Gee. Alan Gee said: WorkLife Tip on the Tightrope « Out Of My Head http://bit.ly/9rqxlN from RSS […]

    Reply
  • 2. Yoav Shapira  |  November 14, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Really nicely done. Thank you for sharing these important things in a transparent way.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer Spencer  |  November 15, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    Thanks, Yoav! It was tough to articulate these in a way that I felt I could act on. Acting on them is going to be tough, too. I never thought I would grow up to say, “Finding time to read books is one of my biggest challenges.”

    Reply
  • 4. Stefanie  |  November 15, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Paul is crushed he isn’t on the photo montage…I’m amused that I don’t remember that picture being taken. #DrunkenMess

    Reply
  • 5. Diana Flahive  |  November 15, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    Love this! So true, everyone is just so stressed and going so fast, that you need to take some time to just, stop.

    Reply
  • 6. lynn berry  |  November 15, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    This is great and something almost everyone can relate to (I know I can).

    Reply
  • 7. Dale Cruse  |  November 15, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    I feel like each of you has made vows to each other but several of the vows you’ve listed here are more like vows to your friends & the rest of the world. That’s beautiful.

    With that in mind, I plan to make New Years’ resolutions not just to myself but to other people as well. Thank you for the inspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


