Lunch at Coppa

April 9, 2010 at 3:31 pm 8 comments

I really admire Jamie Bissonnette. His love of and respect for food and its sources and possibilities is evident from bites at Taste of the South End to flavorful plates at Toro. He has about him the aura of Generally Good Guy, one of my favorite types of people (along with Beautiful People Who Will Look Ugly For Sight Gags and Smart People Who Act Silly). So when I heard about Coppa naturally I wanted to go. But right after I heard “Coppa’s open!” I heard “Coppa is wicked crowded!” Imagine my delight, then, when making lunch plans with a friend and she noted that our date fell on the week that Coppa would be opening for lunch.

A rainy Friday afternoon lends itself to a glass (or 2) of red wine, and I found the Sangiovese (Fattoria le Sorgenti Respiro Chianti) to do the trick very nicely. I love it when a wine just sort of quickly visits your tongue and then rolls away. It encourages me to take another sip. And another. And…

On the lunch menu are three choices of small plates, pizzas, and panini. We started with one choice from each of the small plate options. We tried as best we could to try as much of one of everything that we could and we did a pretty good job. In Stuzi we chose the Bacalao – warm salt cod crostini. Creamy, a hint of fishy flavor (I like fishy flavor – that’s why I eat fish. Dur.) Excellent. Then the duck prosciutto. Imagine the best prosciutto you’ve ever had. Now imagine it ten times better, and unbelievably tender. Soft. Gentle and salty. Amazing. Finally the tuna crudo, which was delicately topped with cippolini onions, black radish and parsley. Have you ever had tuna melt in your mouth? Not unless you’ve had this.

With the small plates we chose a pizza, which the waitress graciously informed us she could request made half and half. One half was morels and Taleggio. I love Taleggio. It tastes like stinky feet smell, but in a really good way. The other half had spicy pork sausage and ricotta cheese. If I tell you how amazing this pizza was you’re going to get sick of the word amazing.

I had high expectations for this lunch and each one was met. My friend and I decided that the next time we go we’ll start with lunch then nibble and drink until such time as we can order dinner, and then just stay all night. Already looking forward to it.

Entry filed under: Boston, food, personal, wine. Tags: , , , .

This is not a Bridal Blog. No, Seriously. Drugstore Love

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dale Cruse  |  April 9, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    It didn’t happen unless there’s pics.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer Scott  |  April 9, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Sigh. You know that’s not how I roll. Tell you what – let’s have lunch there sometime and I’ll take pics.

    Reply
  • 3. Dale Cruse  |  April 9, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Better idea: You go to dinner with me & Rich Auffrey & Amanda Maynard (& probably more) the Saturday of Wine Riot & you can take pics.

    Reply
  • 4. Jennifer Scott  |  April 9, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    That’s my birthday!

    Reply
  • 5. Dale Cruse  |  April 9, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Perfect! See you then!

    Reply
  • 6. Jennifer Scott  |  April 9, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    I’m a maybe – have to check in with the boy to see if he’s already made dinner plans for us. I’ll let you know.

    Reply
  • 7. Dale Cruse  |  April 9, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    This place is so good it could BE your dinner plans! DUH.

    Reply
  • 8. Jennifer Scott  |  April 13, 2010 at 9:04 am

    No can do – my dad is coming into town that night and has specifically requested The Fireplace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


