This is not a Bridal Blog. No, Seriously.

March 21, 2010 at 3:57 pm 2 comments

Hearts on a vineYep, in case you haven’t heard the latest news is that NJS and I got ourselves engaged! I promise this won’t turn into a wedding blog. Except for this post.

To tell the truth, I did start a wedding blog only a few hours after he proposed and then promptly got overwhelmed attempting to choose colors and fonts. Although I’m pretty sure I’ve settled on a color palette and a few fonts to carry throughout, I want to finalize the venue before I move forward with any of the decorative touches. And once I’ve done that I’ll work on the wedding website.

I toyed with the idea of going with tumblr but I think in the end I’m going to end up with a site from a wedding website vendor. Here’s where a lot of you jump in and tell me that’s silly and I should just build my own, but the truth is that with six months to pull this all together, I’ve had to do some serious prioritizing of the tasks ahead. The website is important to me but not so important that I want to spend too much time pulling it together. Wedding websites have customizable templates and come with built-in tools to help with planning and RSVPs and all kind of fun stuff. It’s one less detail for me to become obsessed with, and considering the amount of time I’ve already spent researching wedding website vendors I’d say that’s a good thing.

Wedding Window is my favorite right now because it’s easy to purchase a custom domain name through them or set up your own, and there are way more options for customization than on most of the others I’ve seen. I loved nearly every template on WeddingWire but was really bummed that they don’t allow URL customization.

What are some wedding websites you’ve seen and loved? What did you like about them? If you had a website when you got married, was is just for your wedding or did you keep it as a website about you and your beloved after the wedding as well?

Entry filed under: NJS, wedding. Tags: , .

Song of the South Lunch at Coppa

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  March 21, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Congratulations!

    We wrote our own website, and we created a Honeymoon Registry by adding a link to Yoav’s PayPal account for every item listed – from theater tickets to the hotel to activities, nearly every part of the honeymoon was paid for by our guests.

    PS – Palatino is my favorite font.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer Scott  |  April 13, 2010 at 9:15 am

    The site is up! http://www.nathanjennywedding.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


