Song of the South

March 8, 2010 at 7:46 pm 3 comments

Have you ever experienced going someplace new that suddenly and completely felt like home to you? I came from a military family. My dad left his hometown when he was in his teens and never looked back. My mom is also from a military family. The idea of returning “home” is a bit foreign to me – the closest I’ve come is the farm where my grandmother lives in Maine, but that’s not a farm that will be passed down in my family so eventually that, too, will be gone.

The first place I experienced a really home-like feeling was when I went to college. I stepped out of the car and set one foot onto the red bricks at Randolph-Macon Woman’s College (which is now gone, too, by the way – turned coed a few years ago to try to offset plunging applications and huge loss of revenue) in Lynchburg, Virginia. Virginia came to feel like home to me pretty quickly, and it was where I had my first apartment and my first real job and a lot of firsts in my life. After my first bad roommate experience that left me too broke to do anything but move in with my mother back north, I vowed to return to the South one day.

That was 11 years ago. Not long after I moved in with my mom and her then-boyfriend, I met a guy who was also trying to put his life together, and we (true story) had too much to drink one night and decided to move to Boston. I’d been here before and I have family in the area, and was excited to be in a city I loved. And although the guy is long gone, my love for Boston remains. I love how small the city is, and how everyone knows everyone else, and I’m daily amazed by the network of people I belong to. The smartest, funniest, bravest people I’ve ever known, all of whom are always ready to help with an ear or a hug or an idea whenever I call on them and even sometimes when I don’t.

But try as I might, it’s never been home.

I don’t know quite what the  future holds. Well, immediately it holds Taste of the South End and Lisa’s wedding and the 140 Conference, and I’m looking forward to all of those things. Hopefully the near future holds some exciting new opportunities, and maybe a new water heater so I can take long hot showers in my apartment. Other than that, it’s sort of a blur, save for that one clear true vision of home. I’ll get there one day. And I’ll save a seat on the porch for you.

Entry filed under: Boston, family, personal. Tags: , , , , , .

And I Never Looked Back This is not a Bridal Blog. No, Seriously.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Meghan  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    I’ll be volunteering at Taste of the South End! Hope to get the chance to meet you!

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  March 8, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    I do enjoy reading your posts, Jenny! You tell a beautiful story about the first time you visited R-MWC and it was nice to be reminded of that story tonight. Love the porch picture! After this post, I have “Song of the South” stuck in my head, sweet potato pie and all.

    Reply
  • 3. marylou joyce PJ's mom  |  March 24, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Jenny – I don’t think I know you – or, how I got into your blog,Your story of finding home made me cry. Home is where your heart is. I think you are on your way home. good luck on your wedding and your future home in the arms of your husband. please let us enjoy all the fun of planning your wedding with you and whatever else comes your way. I hope I can find your blog again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


