Take a Deep Breath and…

February 7, 2010 at 3:38 pm 2 comments

Last night I went ice skating for the first time in about 12 years. I managed to make it around the rink quite a few times without falling down, which is good because falling on ice really sucks. The first few times I had one hand on NJS and one hand along the wall. As I gained confidence I would start to speed up; it was when I scared myself with my speed and tried to slow down that I would stumble and have to reach out for the wall and start again. Metaphor, anyone?

I’ve been thinking a lot about bravery this week, because I’ve done some things that made me feel brave even though they were small things, like admitting I was jealous of someone, jumping in on a Twitter conversation or asking someone I really admire to have lunch with me. I’ve also seen a lot of my friends be brave this week in particular, most notably my friend Dale who is doubly brave, first for saying something aloud (very aloud since it’s on the ol’ interwebs) that he doesn’t even like to say to himself and most of all for saying, “I need your help.”

It feels so good to be brave. This week I’ve set two goals for myself: to continue being more brave and to make sure to go out of my way to support Dale so he can keep being brave, too.

Do you think you’re brave? What will you do this week to be more brave?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Gettin’ Busy Should I Stay or Should I Go Now?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. traveleatlove  |  February 7, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Yay for being brave! I try my best to be brave and to just go for things!

    Reply
  • 2. Dale Cruse  |  February 7, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Hey, you’re not going soft on me, are you? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


