Gettin’ Busy

January 29, 2010 at 5:04 pm 1 comment

When I go a long time between posts, I debate whether or not I should fill you all in on what I’ve been up to. Well, I’ve been:

Traveling: NJS and I took a trip to NYC to see family and friends. We had a cozy, delicious and totally fun dinner at Celeste, and I took my first trip to MoMA (did you know they are currently featuring a Tim Burton exhibit? I didn’t – hoping to see it before it leaves). I caught up with my friend Gillian who is now a doctor, and it blows my mind how much she’s accomplished since she was a grad student and we were roommates in a house in Allston. My friends are pretty amazing.

Chrysler Building

Reading: With grad school officially over and done, it took little time to get back into the rhythm of reading everything I can get my hands on. I knew that Away would be finished before the bus from NYC got home to Boston, so I caved and bought Twilight. Terribly written, silly plot, and uninspired characters. I can’t explain why, halfway through, I went out and bought New Moon so I could read through without missing a beat. Now New Moon is done and I don’t feel any better about myself. And yeah, I’m totally going to read the rest of them. But in the meantime I’m enjoying The Best Food Writing of 2009.

Cooking: Well, not much, to be fair. NJS and I have been going to a lot of events, networking and otherwise, and haven’t spent as much time at home. I’ve also been working long hours and recently worked the entire Wine Expo weekend – not only did I not want to cook but I didn’t want to eat, I’ve been so tired.

Going to stuff: As mentioned above, I’ve been pretty busy. There was a New Zealand Wines event at work, then Wine Expo, then the Social Changeup, then the BWP Open Mixer, then Ginger Explosion… then I absolutely had to come home and go to bed early. But I met some really cool people, had amazing conversations, and ate a really lovely ginger-infused gumbo. I definitely can’t complain, and won’t.

Tweeting: If you ever want to find me and I seem to be absent from the blog, come find me on Twitter. I’m almost always there.

I’m working on a new blog (don’t worry – you’ll be the first to know) and meeting with a lot of people to talk about social media. I’m also scheduling lunches with people I admire, because I feel like I’m on the cusp of some major life changes, changes that might allow me to spend more time writing for you, and I’m a little overwhelmed with possibility; these are folks with whom I think a discussion over some fries or maybe a glass of wine would help me to work out some of the kinks and get a little focus.

What are you up to?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Want to Marry Italian Wedding Soup Take a Deep Breath and…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Melissa  |  January 29, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Your comments about Twilight ring so true… clunky, awkward writing, never mind how far it sets back the cause of feminism. Talk about teaching young girls that it’s ok to make terrible choices in the name of love. BUT, I raced through all four books and have an Edward Cullen poster in my laundry room. Someone needs to do a sociological study on this strange disease. Otherwise, glad to hear you’re having so much fun and good luck with those big life changes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


