Eggnog Pancakes with Bourbon Maple Syrup

January 12, 2010 at 8:40 pm 3 comments

Ever wonder what my kitchen looks like at 10am on a Sunday?

Maker's Mark is ready for brunchAw yeah!

After a beyond-successful experiment with eggnog pancakes on Christmas morning, I decided to whip up another batch for breakfast this past Sunday. As an added bonus I heated some syrup and stirred in a little Maker’s Mark. These pancakes were already incredibly good – to add the bourbon syrup made me giggle at how delicious they were. Seriously.

Eggnog pancakes

I’ve noticed lately that when I search for recipes on Google I get a lot of food blogs. I love this for two reasons: 1. I get to find new blogs that I enjoy reading and 2. there are usually helpful hints and tricks from another home cook to help me guide any alterations I might make. Nothing worse than finding a recipe with 147 reviews, each one with a different alteration. I like to take into account what others have experienced with the dish before I try it.

I was super lucky to come across the eggnog pancake recipe on Erin Cooks. She starts with Nigella Lawson’s basic pancake recipe, which is already way better than mine thanks to two “heaping” teaspoons of baking powder. I also used Hood’s Golden Eggnog, of which Erin claims to be the #1 super fan. I am #3, as NJS is #2, hands down. Props to Erin, originator of the following recipe, which I plan to make every Christmas (and many days in between) from now until the day I have children who can make them for me:

Light and Fluffy Eggnog Pancakes
Originally posted on Erin Cooks
Adapted from Nigella Lawson’s pancake recipe.

2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 heaping teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon sugar
Pinch salt
1 1/3 cups Eggnog
2 eggs
Butter, for frying pancakes
Best-quality maple syrup

Melt the butter and set aside to cool slightly.

In a large, wide-necked measuring cup, measure out the flour and add the baking powder, sugar and salt. Stir to combine.

In another cup, measure the Eggnog, beat in the eggs and then the slightly cooled butter, and pour the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients, whisking as you do so. Or just put everything in a blender and blitz.

Now, heat either a griddle or nonstick frying pan, smear with a small bit of butter and then start frying. I just pour small amounts straight from the cup (but you could use a 1/4-cup measure if you prefer) so that you have wiggly circumferenced disks. When you see bubbles erupting on the surface, turn the pancakes over and cook for a couple of minutes, if that, on the other side.

Or use a blini pan and, as just described, turn when the bubbles break through to the uncooked surface. There is a Russian saying to the effect that the first pancake is always botched, so be prepared to sacrifice the initial offering to unceremonious stoveside gobbling.

Pile the pancakes onto plate, and dribble or pour over, depending on greed and capacity, that clear, brown, woodily fragrant syrup.

Entry filed under: food, NJS, recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

I’m All About Malbec Re-cy-cling?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kseverny  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    seems like a great recipe

    Reply
  • 2. Erin  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:12 am

    So glad you enjoyed the recipe Jennifer. We make these all the time sometimes using buttermilk etc… Isn’t Nigella just the best?!

    Reply
  • 3. Wreath  |  April 12, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I’m really glad that you’ve created your own blog and have factually posted your thoughts. I love your work and feel I can relate to what you’ve done. Most people can’t even imagine having such talent. I hope that you know how lucky you are. 🙂 Good luck to you in ALL your endeavors. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


