Hello. Have we Tweeted?

December 11, 2009 at 5:09 pm 2 comments

Last night I joined my friend Tina and a small group of other bloggers she’s friendly with for drinks and a little nom at Noir. Although I’ve been to events where bloggers are, I’ve never been to an event specifically to gather bloggers in a room. I was pretty flattered to be asked in the first place, since this little site is still getting its feet wet and ladies like We Are Not Martha are really well established.

It was really fun meeting new people, and super nice of Noir to put out a spread for us (as seen here and here).  I love flatbreads and although I know a lot of restaurants are doing them these days they’re consistently good, at Noir and ESK and just today at Post 390, so I’m not complaining. I also had a Murder, My Sweet which was sweeter than expected. Even with the telling name. It had Port and Lillet and was shaken with a clove-spiked orange.

I’ve been to events where bloggers were in attendance before, but usually I find social media events through Twitter or meet connections that way. It was definitely a different vibe – not bad, just different. I think I feel automatically closer to people I follow because I see their Tweets daily, versus occasionally reading a blog post.  I think I also find it easier to strike up a conversation with someone I’ve already “conversed” with over Twitter.

Do you attend events like this? What do you think?

Entry filed under: Boston, food, social media. Tags: , , .

You Can’t Handle the Proof! Glug-a-Blog

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa  |  December 14, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    I love attending events. I can agree with you though…reading someone’s blog makes them seem very far-removed, almost like a celebrity. But Twitter convos help me feel like I know someone better.

    Can’t wait for more meetups! (I guess I’m just super chatty and love talking to anyone and everyone, haha)

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer Scott  |  December 14, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    I think my favorite part of Twitter is feeling like I’m in a conversation – whether I’m part of a thread or just making a comment or even retweeting something. I feel like tweetups are a chance to continue that conversation. Makes it easier for people like me who are initially kind of shy. Believe it or not. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


