I’m on Pins and Needles

November 10, 2009 at 12:05 pm 1 comment

Stressed much? Why yes, yes I am, and I’m always looking for new ways to help me manage it. Especially ways that are inexpensive, convenient, and don’t take a lot of time. So when I saw an ad for Acupuncture for Everyone, I thought why not? It’s just a few blocks from where I work, it’s certainly affordable (pay what you can, from $5 to $35) and it seemed pretty ideal to try it once with little risk.

For $35 you’re not going to get a sleek, quiet space. It looks like a craft room in the basement of a church. In fact, it’s on the 3rd floor of the Community Church of Boston. And there was some construction noise as I sat quietly with a needles in me. The treatment room can seat up to four people, so you’re not really isolated, although there was only one other woman who came in toward the end of my time.

My session was with Anne, and we started out talking. I told her a little about why I was there, my history with stress (on the form I noted that it started “forever ago” since I can recall being a rather tense child), and a few other things. She only used a few needles since it was my first time, and for the most part there was a small pinch and then I didn’t really feel it. And this coming from a woman who has been known to have an anxiety attack just from being in the same room as hypedermic needles. There was one point on my neck, near my shoulder, that didn’t react well – a sudden whoosh of pressure that freaked me out. But I know not everyone reacts the same way to the same points, so it didn’t stop me from continuing.

Not sure if it was the needles or the 40 minutes sitting in a chair listening to calming music (and a little background construction noise) but I left feeling much more calm and more focused. I felt like I was really present in the moment instead of thinking and planning and living ahead of myself like I normally am. Of course, 30 minutes at my desk undid most of it, but I’m already looking forward to going back.

Entry filed under: Boston, health.

Boyfriend, Take me Away Mind = Blown

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kristie  |  November 14, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    I’m a huge fan of acupuncture… I did it for awhile a few years ago when I was going through a really stressful time and I’m pretty sure it kept me from having a complete nervous breakdown.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitterific

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


